10 Book Series To Read If You Love Peter Pan

Ever since I was young, I loved the idea of never growing up. I always knew I wanted to stay young at heart forever. I still believe I live by those rules! Anyways, all of that came to be from the one and only Peter Pan along with his sassy (my spirit animal) sidekick, Tinkerbell! Now of course all of this came to be from J. M. Barrie’s original story as well as Walt Disney and his imaginative adaptation.

From the Disney Movie & Live Action 2003 version with Jeremy Sumpter (my first love) to Once Upon A Time and Finding Neverland (highly recommended movie), I have always been on the look out for other versions of this beloved story to revert back to my childhood self. Over the past few years, I have discovered many books and book series that have a nice twist on all things Peter Pan and I have decided to compile a list to share with all of you (Of series I have both read and not read!)! So here are 10 book series to read if you love Peter Pan!

10. Straight On Till Morning: A Twisted Tale by Liz Braswell (Coming Feb. 4, 2020)

Image result for peter pan twisted tales books

Have Not Read Yet. What if Wendy first discovered Neverland with Captain Hook? This book is part of Disney’s Twisted Tales’ series and I am super hyped about it! Their other stories are always fascinating so I am very excited to see their take on this story!

9. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Have Not Read Yet. Tiger Lily is the fierce daughter of the Native Neverland Peoples’ Chief. Throughout the different tellings of this classic story she is seen as stubborn and courageous. But what would Neverland be like from her standpoint? What is her opinion on everything happening on the mystical island in the clouds? Well this story dives into her side of things! It always pops up on my suggests list with great reviews!

8. Never Never by Brianna Shrum

Have Not Read Yet. Peter Pan takes James Hook away to Neverland but doesn’t let him return back home to his loved ones when hes had enough of what Neverland has to offer. Only twist? Apparently James Hook ages while others don’t (at least this is what I got from the description please don’t @ me if I’m wrong). Now he is trapped in a world with his new enemy and is determined to fight his way back to the home and ones he loves.

7. The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse

The Neverland Wars by [Greathouse, Audrey]

Have Not Read Yet. Gwen’s (this seems to be a popular name in retellings) little sister is whisked away to Neverland by Peter Pan. Gwen’s life, being a teen who’s biggest concern was her crush on the boy from the debate team, is completely turned until down when she goes off to bring her sister home. But not only does she find herself in Neverland as a teenager, Peter Pan has aged too into teenhood, oh ya and Neverland is at complete war. It is up to Gwen to decide to stay or go.

6. The Wendy (Tales of the Wendy Series) by Erin Michelle Sky & Steven Brown

Have Not Read Yet. Imagine England is at war with all Magic. Now imagine Wendy wants to captain her own ship but women of the time are looked at like nothing more than house wives. She is determined to prove her worth but the only people who may see her for what she is capable of may be the very people she is fighting against.

5. Blood in the Water: The Lost Tale of Captain Hook (Scary Faerie Chronicles) by M. A. Kersh

Have Not Read Yet. Captain Hook and Peter Pan knew each other as young boys!? That is how this version tells it at least. Peter Pan steals the souls of children and Captain Hook is out for revenge. Their pasts in an orphanage together come to fruition and it’s anyone’s game who will come out on top. Seems like an interesting take on the tale.

4. Hook & Crown: A Dark Peter Pan Retelling by Nicole Knapp

Have Not Read Yet. A pretty new book that just came out in June, but just from the brief descriptions I’m about ready to head out to the book store to find it. A Young Adult Romance Fantasy based on Captain Hook and Neverland? Count me in! It also says it has a darker side to it which intrigues me to see where the author takes the story. The brief description reads that many know the original story but you can’t always believe what you know. Can I get an oooooo.

3. Wendy Darling Series by Colleen Oakes

My Next Read. Peter Pan takes Wendy off to Neverland one night while her parents are at a ball. The story starts off like the regular telling until Wendy slowly starts to realize Neverland is a lot darker than she believed it to be. She starts to realize Peter’s evil side when her past is slowly wiped from her mind. She also realizes she needs to find a way home even though Peter’s desire for Wendy will make him do whatever it takes to keep her in Neverland.

2. Peter and The Starcatchers Series by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson

Read First Two Books. First of all, Ridley Pearson, great author. He has an unparalleled imagination and is responsible for a book series that many of my fellow Disney fans will know. The Kingdom Keepers. This series started prior to the Kingdom Keepers though I believe. It is a great retelling of Peter Pan in the first book then goes further into detail to explore all that Neverland has to explore throughout the rest of the series. They also have a spin-off series as well to further dive into the adventures of Neverland.

1. Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

Have Read. Love. That is all I have to say about this stand alone book. I will admit the ending is a little hard to follow but the plot is great. Gwen and her friend are whisked away to Neverland by evil shadows only to end up on a ~young Captain Hooks ship. I’m talking early 20s and beautiful description type a young here. She then runs into a slightly aged (again early 20s) Peter Pan. She discovers that although time runs differently in Neverland, Peter ages every trip he makes to the real world. But Peter is also hiding a dark secret and may actually be the villain of the story. But I’ll leave that up to you and Gwen to decide.

1 Comments on “10 Book Series To Read If You Love Peter Pan”

  1. Pingback: 20 Things To Do While Social Distancing | Toria's Tales of Travel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: